The ‘favorite movie’ question

27 Aug

What is your favorite movie? I have been asked this numerous times lately. And while it shouldn’t be too hard to answer, it always is.

Do I give the snobbish reply of “Annie Hall” ? It is one of my faves of all time, but not one that I watch every day. There is a likelihood that the other person hasn’t seen it, and I can say with an air, “It’s my favorite Woody Allen,” like I watch his films all the time.

Or do I say one of the classics of my childhood that bring thoughts of the past? Some are obvious, such as the Disney classic “Cinderella.” But others might make people wonder. “Warriors” is one. My siblings and I watched it a lot. A NYC gang trying to survive the night as rival gangs try to beat the living crap out of them. It’s full of violence, horrible language, and I became entranced with it at the age of 8. “The Wiz” comes to mind, as my mother rarely listened to anything other than R&B or Motown. While we grew up in the Midwest where country ranked supreme, it was frowned upon in the Olson household. It confused me immensely in middle school that others had not heard of the likes of Marvin Gaye or the guitar skills of Eric Clapton. (I’m trailing, this would be better off left for another blog post.)

Maybe I just repeat what my go-to movies are, the ones I watch when I’m depressed or having a blue day. But that is information I don’t readily give out. See, I like to usually give the impression that I am sophisticated or worldly, and the reality is, I’m just like any other girl out there. If I’m ready to eat a gallon of chocolate ice cream, “Bridget Jones’ Diary” is it. If it’s a rainy day, I’ll reach for a Jane Austen flick, like “Sense and Sensibility.” Homesick? Then “Little Women” is my pick. And the movie marathon kind of day requires the “Harry Potter” series or a little “LOTR” action.

So? You say. So? So? That makes me look like any other girl. I’m not extraordinary or have unique tastes. I’m mainstream. And around my friends or family, that is fine. But everyone else? I’d like to pretend there is a little mystique. Oh well.

My favorite movie is likely an Audrey Hepburn movie like “Sabrina.” It might be “Ever After,” and on a given day, “Die Hard” works, too. It is ever-changing, like my mood. It’s hard for me to pinpoint a film, book or an album that is “IT,” that defines me. It’s kinda impossible, actually.

The next time I get asked that question, what will I say? The truth? Sorry. I will probably make some comment about a flick I only saw once before. This before going home to my apartment, to watch a mix of “The Princess Bride” and “Sixteen Candles.”

2 Responses to “The ‘favorite movie’ question”

  1. Gabriel | 加百利 August 27, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

    Before Sunrise & Before Sunset 🙂 Looking forward for the third part ❤ Wonderful post!

  2. Major Tom August 27, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

    Reblogged this on linkaland and commented:
    “Qual è il tuo film preferito?” Una domanda alla quale è davvero difficile rispondere. Se amate il cinema non potete che amare molti film, magari di generi diversi o legati a momenti diversi della vostra vita. Dire “Io e Annie”, pensa Carrie, sarebbe riduttivo per più di un motivo, e allora vi invito a leggere il simpatico blog di questa ragazza dell’Iowa che sogna la grande città.

Leave a Reply

